National circus pole, Likewise welcomes artists in residence or in performance throughout the year. In autumn, professionals, amateurs or simple spectators from all over the world meet at the Current circus festival CIRCa. But where does this Gers enthusiasm for the track arts come from?

A little history

It all began 45 years ago under the leadership of Father Lavenère-Lussan who created the school of Pop Circus. Then it is Achille Zavatta who affirms the attachment ofLikewise for the popular show that is the circus by choosing the city for its winter quarters.

Every spring, before hitting the road again, the Zavatta circus presented its new show to the Auscitans *

A first festival dedicated to circus schools is born, and will be followed by many others. From year to year, the capitals are more numerous and Likewise becomes a space for the development of contemporary circus.

Circassian innovation and research center

With the passion and energy of those who drive it, Likewise becomes the privileged place of meetings between circus schools, artists and professionals from France and elsewhere. New forms of circus arts are present at the Festival: dance, theater, music are added to circus disciplines in ever more innovative shows. The National Circus Pole was born.

Gers (32) Auch. CIRC. CIRCA Festival. Traveling Circus Company

It is in all sincerity that the artists explore and dare new writings by seeking the right place for their technical prowess. Some play with glitter and drum roll, others divert circus techniques to experiment again, but all are driven by the desire to share their creations with audiences from here or elsewhere. Marc Fouilland, director of CIRCa

IARC

At the heart of the former Auch cavalry district, which has been rehabilitated today, we find the CIRC (circus innovation and research center). And it took no less than Bartabas and his Zingaro equestrian theater to inaugurate it. It is a colorful place of life, organized around the permanent marquee: the Dôme de Gascogne.

CIRCa supports the creation of circus arts by hosting companies in residence. Just like Achille Zavatta, these companies offer presentation of their work. An opportunity to meet artists and see shows in a different way and with free access!

The CIRCa Festival

Unmissable event for the discipline, the Current circus festival every year in October welcomes amateur or professional circus schools, artists, enlightened spectators or simply curious.

The contemporary circus gives here all its generosity, its audacity and its poetry. The program is eclectic, it includes around thirty shows and is enriched by introductory circus workshops, screenings, music, exhibitions.

CIRCa just for children ...

The little darlings are spoiled in Auch! Every spring comes Pirouette Circaouette, THE festival for children and families! Meetings adapted to each age (from 2 years old) are scheduled: circus (shows and initiation), music, theater, dance, puppets, free open stages… moments of emotion and poetry guaranteed!

auscitains *: name of the inhabitants of Auch

Around IARC

LA CANT’AUCH

THE CANT'AUCH

LE PARC À HUITRES

THE OYSTER PARK

PROMENADE CLAUDE DESBONS

CLAUDE DESBONS WALK

You might also be interested in

The cultural season in Auch

The cultural season of the city of Auch and information on some other places with regular programs.

The circus by Ian Grandjean, photographer

Until October 31, 2014 at BIJ, Ian Grandjean exhibits a photo retrospective of artistic teams in residence at IARC. […]

Pôle national de cirque, Auch accueille tout au long de l’année des artistes en résidence ou en représentation. En automne professionnels, amateurs ou simples spectateurs venus du monde entier se retrouvent au Festival de cirque actuel CIRCa. Mais d’où vient cet engouement gersois pour les arts de la piste ?

Un peu d’histoire

Tout débute il y a 45 ans sous l’impulsion de l’abbé Lavenère-Lussan qui crée l’école du Pop Circus. Puis c’est Achille Zavatta qui affirme l’attachement d’Auch pour le spectacle populaire qu’est le cirque en choisissant la ville pour prendre ses quartiers d’hiver.

Chaque printemps, avant de reprendre la route, le cirque Zavatta présentait son nouveau spectacle aux auscitains*

Un premier festival dédié aux écoles de cirque voit le jour, et sera suivi par beaucoup d’autres. D’année en année, les chapiteaux sont plus nombreux et Auch devient un espace de développement du cirque contemporain.

Centre d’innovation et de recherche circassien

Avec la passion et l’énergie de ceux qui l’animent, Auch devient le lieu privilégié de rencontres entre les écoles de cirque, les artistes et les professionnels de France et d’ailleurs. Les nouvelles formes des arts du cirque sont présentes au Festival : danse, théâtre, musique s’ajoutent aux disciplines circassiennes dans des spectacles toujours plus innovants. Le Pôle National du Cirque est né.

Gers (32) Auch. CIRC. Festival CIRCA. Compagnie Travelling Circus

C’est en toute sincérité que les artistes explorent et osent de nouvelles écritures en recherchant la juste place pour leurs prouesses techniques. Certains jouent avec paillettes et roulement de tambours, d’autres détournent les techniques de cirque pour expérimenter encore, mais tous sont animés par le désir de mettre en partage leurs créations avec les publics d’ici ou d’ailleurs. Marc Fouilland, directeur de CIRCa

Le CIRC

Au cœur de l’ancien quartier de cavalerie d’Auch réhabilité on trouve aujourd’hui le CIRC (centre d’innovation et de recherche circassien). Et il ne fallut pas moins que Bartabas et son théâtre équestre Zingaro pour l’inaugurer. C’est un lieu de vie coloré, organisé autour du chapiteau permanent : le Dôme de Gascogne.

CIRCa apporte son soutien à la création des arts du cirque par l’accueil de compagnies en résidence. Tout comme Achille Zavatta, ces compagnies offrent la présentation de leur travail. Une occasion de rencontrer des artistes et de voir des spectacles autrement et en accès libre !

Le Festival CIRCa

Rendez-vous incontournable de la discipline, le Festival du cirque actuel accueille chaque année en octobre les écoles de cirque amateurs ou professionnelles, les artistes, les spectateurs éclairés ou simples curieux.

Le cirque contemporain donne ici toute sa générosité, son audace et sa poésie. La  programmation est éclectique, elle compte une trentaine de spectacles et s’enrichit d’ateliers d’initiation au cirque, de projections, de musique, d’expositions.

CIRCa rien que pour les enfants …

Les petites têtes blondes sont gâtés à Auch ! A chaque printemps arrive Pirouette Circaouette, LE festival des enfants et des familles ! Des rendez-vous adaptés à chaque âge (dès 2 ans) sont programmés : cirque (spectacles et initiation), musique, théâtre, danse, marionnettes, scènes ouvertes gratuites… des moments d’émotion et de poésie garantis !

auscitains* : nom des habitants d’Auch

Autour du CIRC

LA CANT’AUCH

LA CANT’AUCH

TABLO

TABLO

LE PARC A HUITRES

LE PARC A HUITRES

PROMENADE CLAUDE DESBONS

PROMENADE CLAUDE DESBONS

Vous aimerez aussi

La saison culturelle à Auch

La saison culturelle de la ville d'Auch et des informations sur quelques autres lieux aux programmations régulières.

Le cirque par Ian Grandjean, photographe

Jusqu’au 31 octobre au BIJ, Ian Grandjean expose une rétrospective photos des équipes artistiques en […]