The Cathedral of Sainte-Marie d'Auch a real eye-catcher with its dominant position at the top of the hill. Completed in 1680 after two hundred years of construction, it is one of the most recent Gothic cathedrals in France. This monument, classified major site on ways of Saint-Jacques de Compostelle by UNESCO, reserve of beautiful and incredible discoveries ...

Vue cathédrale d'Auch

Between Gothic and Renaissance

Whether the approach is on foot via the GR653 or the banks of the Gers, by car or by train, the gothic silhouette of the Auch cathedral is promising. Arrived on the square, what a surprise! An imposing and harmonious Renaissance-style facade welcomes us! The Cathedral of Sainte-Marie is a perfect illustration of the transition between Flamboyant Gothic and the classical Renaissance style.

The main building in Auch, its Sainte-Marie cathedral (…) is a Gothic church from this rich Gothic era which ended the ogival period and flourished during the Renaissance. JULES VERNE, Geography of France, 1867.

The light

A certain majesty emerges when we enter the building. This majesty is accentuated by the sobriety of the decor, by the height of the vaults (26 m!), And by the light.

Let's move towards the windows. Here the stained glass by Arnaut de Moles (XNUMXth century) are marvels of lights in shimmering colors.

The XNUMXth century stained glass windows, the work of Arnaud de Moles,

are among the most beautiful stained glass windows of the south.
They present in particular full-length characters, comparing the old and the new testament, as well as the pagan religions represented by the sibyls.

The drape of the characters' costumes is remarkable, you could almost feel the velvet of the fabrics. The first canopy represents the scene of original sin. Notice Adam's belly and…. her navel.

The choir

The choir of St. Mary's Cathedral is a church within the church. Completed in 1552, it is composed of high stalls and low stalls where more than 1500 characters are sculpted, constituting an iconographic ensemble of incomparable richness.

We must observe the thoroughness and variety of detail ; on each seat, even the volutes of the armrests are finely carved and sometimes represent a character, Chemins de Saint-Jacques-de-Compostelle in France, sometimes a fabulous animal.

The Great Organ

As you walk towards the exit, your eyes look up at the arches and fall on a monumental organ by Jean de Joyeuse (Seventeenth century).

Visits for everyone

Individually, in a group or as a family, the cathedral is revealed at your own pace. You wish to venture out on your own, choose the commentaries of an audio guide or the courses strewn with puzzles of the application » Explore Auch  »(The tourist office provides you with a tablet).

Do you prefer the presence of a guide? The guides of the Country of Art and History offer a program of visits that are as documented as they are fun, as well as workshops for the youngest. Finally for the groupes, our dedicated service is at your disposal.

You might also be interested in

Pilgrim welcome

On the way to St-Jacques de Compostelle, Auch and Montégut in the Gers from Toulouse

La Cathédrale Sainte-Marie d’Auch attire tous les regards avec sa position dominante au sommet de la colline. Achevée en 1680 après deux cents ans de construction, elle est une des plus récentes cathédrales gothiques de France. Ce monument, classé site majeur sur les chemins de Saint-Jacques de Compostelle par l’UNESCO, réserve de belles et incroyables découvertes…

Vue cathédrale d'Auch

Entre Gothique et Renaissance

Que l’approche se fasse à pied par le GR653 ou les berges du Gers, en voiture ou en train, la silhouette gothique de la cathédrale d’Auch est prometteuse. Arrivés sur le parvis, quelle surprise ! Une imposante et harmonieuse façade de style Renaissance nous accueille ! La Cathédrale Sainte-Marie est une parfaite illustration de la transition entre le gothique flamboyant et le style classique Renaissance.

Le principal édifice d’Auch, sa cathédrale Sainte-Marie (…) est une église gothique de cette riche époque du gothique qui termine la période ogivale et s’épanouit à la Renaissance. JULES VERNE, Géographie de la France, 1867.

La lumière

Une certaine majesté se dégage lorsque nous entrons dans l’édifice. Cette majesté est accentuée par la sobriété du décor, par la hauteur des voûtes (26 m !), et par la lumière.

Avançons vers les verrières. Ici, les vitraux d’Arnaut de Moles (XVIe siècle) sont merveilles de lumières aux couleurs chatoyantes.

Les vitraux du XVIe siècle, œuvre d’Arnaud de Moles,

comptent parmi les plus beaux vitraux du midi.
Ils présentent notamment des personnages en pied, mettant en parallèle l’ancien et le nouveau testament, ainsi que les religions païennes représentées par les sibylles.

Le drapé des costumes des personnages est remarquable, on pourrait presque sentir le velours des tissus. La première verrière représente la scène du péché originel. Remarquez le ventre d’Adam et …. son nombril.

Le chœur

Le chœur de la Cathédrale Sainte-Marie est une église dans l’église. Achevé en 1552, il est composé de stalles hautes et de stalles basses où plus de 1500 personnages sont sculptés, constituant un ensemble iconographique d’une richesse incomparable.

Nous devons observer la minutie et la variété du détail ; à chaque siège, même les volutes des accoudoirs sont sculptées avec finesse et représentent tantôt un personnage, Chemins de Saint-Jacques-de-Compostelle en France tantôt un animal fabuleux.

Le Grand Orgue

En se dirigeant vers la sortie, les yeux se lèvent vers les voûtes et tombent sur un monumental orgue de Jean de Joyeuse (XVIIe siècle).

Des visites pour tous

Individuellement, en groupe ou en famille, le cathédrale se dévoile à votre rythme. Vous souhaitez vous aventurer seul, choisissez les commentaires d’un audio-guide ou les parcours parsemés d’énigmes de l’application  » Explore Auch  » (l’office de tourisme met à votre disposition une tablette).

Vous préférez la présence d’un guide ? Les guides conférenciers du Pays d’art et d’histoire proposent un programme de visites aussi documentées que ludiques ainsi que des ateliers pour les plus jeunes. Enfin pour les groupes, notre service dédié est à votre écoute.

Vous aimerez aussi

Accueil pèlerin

Sur le chemin de St-Jacques de Compostelle, Auch et Montégut dans le Gers en provenance de Toulouse